Madonna teams up with Colombian superstar Maluma for Latin-infused Medellín

Madonna has revealed the details of her highly-anticipated 14th studio album.

Madame X will be released on June 14th globally from Live Nation, Interscope Records and Maverick.

The first track from the album ‘Medellín,’ with Colombian superstar Maluma, premieres today. The track was Zane Lowe’s World Record on Apple Music’s Beats 1.

Medellín (with Maluma)

Medellín (with Maluma), a song by Madonna, Maluma on Spotify

Madonna will exclusively unveil the world premiere of her video and single ‘Medellín’ with Maluma, during a globally televised MTV music event, MTV Presents Madonna Live & Exclusive: ‘Medellín’ Video World Premiere, on Wednesday, April 24 at 9:00 pm BST / 4:00pm ET/ 1:00pm PT.

The TV event will see Madonna join British DJ Trevor Nelson and fans live from London for a conversation about the influences of her new album, and the creative forces behind her transcendent career.

Influenced creatively by living in Lisbon, Portugal over the past several years, Madame X is a collection of 15 new songs that celebrate Madonna’s career-long affair with Latin music and culture as well as other global influences.

Singing in Portuguese, Spanish and English, highlights on the album include first single ‘Medellín,’ which was co-produced by Mirwais and captures the spirit of Maluma’s hometown, the anthemic song ‘I Rise,’ the Jamaican dancehall vibes of ‘Future’ featuring Quavo, and co-produced by Diplo, as well as the sonically innovative Mirwais produced ‘Dark Ballet.’

The album was recorded over 18 months in Portugal, London, New York and Los Angeles, Madonna collaborated on Madame X with longtime producer Mirwais, as well as with producers Mike Dean and Diplo, among others.

“Lisbon is where my record was born,” Madonna says. “I found my tribe there and a magical world of incredible musicians that reinforced my belief that music across the world is truly all connected and is the soul of the universe.”

The full track listing for Madame X standard and deluxe versions are:

  1. Medellín (featuring Maluma)
  2. Dark Ballet
  3. God Control
  4. Future (featuring Quavo)
  5. Batuka
  6. Killers Who Are Partying
  7. Crave (featuring Swae Lee)
  8. Crazy
  9. Come Alive
  10. Extreme Occident (deluxe version only)
  11. Faz Gostoso (featuring Anitta)
  12. Bitch I’m Loca (featuring Maluma)
  13. I Don’t Search I Find
  14. Looking for Mercy (deluxe version only)
  15. I Rise

Written by QWEERIST editor

What do you think?

4 points
Upvote Downvote


Leave a Reply





Beyoncé unveils Homecoming Netflix film and live album

Game of Thrones timeline charts notable deaths, cliffhangers and battles from the series so far